Problem with upgrading WFFM for Sitecore 7.2

We have a project where we need to upgrade Web Forms For Marketers (WFFM) to make it work with Sitecore 7.2. The WFFM version that works with Sitecore 7.2 is the version 2.4 rev.140117. The WFFM version that we have in the server is version 2.3.0 rev 120216.

As per Sitecore website, we need to install three WFFM update packages as follows in sequence

Update WFFM module version 2.3.0 rev.120216 to version 2.3.0 rev.130118 (WFM2.3.0rev.130118.update)
Update WFFM module version 2.3.0 rev.130118 to version 2.3.0 rev.131126 (Web Forms for Marketers 2.3.0 rev. 131126.update)
Update WFFM module version 2.3.0 rev.131126 to version 2.4 rev.140117 (Web Forms for Marketers 2.4.0 rev. 140117.update)

I downloaded these three packages from the Sitecore website and started installing them. The installation of first two went smoothly. Before installing any package, I click on the ‘Analyze’ to see if there is any potential conflict. For the third package I saw the following conflict

ScreenHunter_11 May. 16 22.34

 

Hmm, the original file has been modified? I haven’t done anything other than installing the two packages in sequence. I looked at the current version of Sitecore.Forms.Core.dll and that is below

Untitled

The second package was supposed to upgrade the version of WFFM to 2.3.0 rev 131126, but wait, what is that Hotfix# 402448? I don’t know. Whatever, I don’t care because I don’t know what else to do other than installing the third update. So, I went ahead and installed the third package. As expected, an error occurred as mentioned in the analysis result and the Sitecore.Forms.Core.dll was not updated to 2.4.0 rev. 140117. The version is same as show in the above image.

ScreenHunter_12 May. 16 22.53

 

At this point although I know things are not looking good, I decided check if the WFFM is working. I tried to open a form and got the following error.

ScreenHunter_13 May. 16 22.58

This is a vague error because, my web.config has the right assembly redirection for the HtmlAgilityPack.dll.

At this point I decided to extract the Sitecore.Forms.Core.dll from the update package and copy that in the website/bin folder. Voila, the Forms started working.

I don’t know if this is a known issue. I haven’t found any reference of this problem in any forum or any place in the internet. I suspect that, the problem is with Hotfix version of the Sitecore.Forms.Core.dll, which was not updated in the Web Forms for Marketers 2.4.0 rev. 140117.update package.

 

About Himadri Chakrabarti

I am a software developer architect and a Sitecore MVP. My professional interest is everything and anything related to Software Architecture, .NET, Sitecore, Node.js, NoSQL etc. Outside of my profession, I am a hobbyist photographer. Link to my photography site http://himadriphotography.com/
This entry was posted in Sitecore, Web Forms For Marketers, WFFM and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Problem with upgrading WFFM for Sitecore 7.2

  1. Karol says:

    Did you find any answer to this? I also in the path to upgrade the web forms. I realized also that after installing the version 131126, there was an error in the post-installation steps.

  2. Srujan Kurumella says:

    Had the same issue. Opened a ticket with sitecore and below is what they responded with.

    Please try these steps:
    1. Make sure that Sitecore.Forms.Core.dll and Sitecore.Forms.Custom.dll have version 2.4 rev.140117. This article may be helpful:
    https://sdn.sitecore.net/Scrapbook/How%20can%20I%20see%20version%20of%20a%20module%20installed%20on%20my%20Sitecore.aspx
    2. Disable temporarily Sitecore.Forms.MVC.config and run upgrade process again.
    3. After upgrade revert changes from step #2.

    If any errors occur, please provide me with the following things:
    1. A package generated by the SSPG tool:
    https://marketplace.sitecore.net/Modules/Sitecore_Support_Package_Generator.aspx
    2. An archive of the Website\temp\__upgradehistory folder. You could upload it to our FTP:
    https://kb.sitecore.net/articles/862874

Leave a Reply

